UK Shrimp
Hello - Printable Version

+- UK Shrimp (https://ukshrimp.co.uk)
+-- Forum: UK Shrimp Site (https://ukshrimp.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Forum: Introductions & Welcomes (https://ukshrimp.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Thread: Hello (/showthread.php?tid=9)

Hello - Glokta - 08-31-2017

Hi, I am currently cycling my first shrimp tank, finding it tricky, as I have no real experience, apart from keeping sticklebacks in an outdoor tank as a child. Finding it a bit tricky to negotiate your forum, but I'm sure it will get easier.

RE: Hello - AdeDunn - 09-08-2017

Hi Glokta, welcome to the forum. I'm sure you'll soon get the hang of the forum.

I've found the easiest way to cycle is using Biomature, and ammonia test kit and a nitrite test kit. Don't let the ammonia go above about 3ppm max (shrimp don't even get half way to that, so lower is even better), if it starts getting a bit high do a 50% water change. If you want to try to speed it up, I've found both prodibio biodigest and evolution aqua pure aquarium balls help (probably the only 2 products I've tried that did... lol). Time is your ally though, the longer you can leave the tank empty and maturing, the healthier it will be for your shrimp. Smile

Ade

RE: Hello - Glokta - 09-08-2017

Hi Ade,

thanks for your reply. Just got back from a week away and my parameters are now: pH- 7.5,
NH3 - 0, NO2 - 1.0, NO3 -80, KH - 5, GH - 13.

The normal GH for my tap water is 14, so it's creeping back to this. Before I went on holiday I did a big water change, before which the NH3 was 2.0, no nitrates to speak of. Whilst I've been away my MTS's have grown, and the plants too, a bit. The tank looks more mature, it smells like the pit ponds water.